The Waiting~Book Review

by adustyframe ~ October 15th, 2010

The Waiting

I’ve enjoyed reading Amish fiction for years and have read books by several authors. I’ve never read anything by Suzanne Woods Fisher.

When I received the opportunity from Litfuse to get a copy of  The Waiting for free to review, I had to say yes!

I haven’t read the 1st book in the series, but this book stands alone. The book is set in the 1960’s during the Viet Nam War. Jorie King is waiting for her love Ben to return from the war. Even though Amish are pacifists, Ben signed up for the war and was deployed.

The other main characters in the book are Ben’s family–mainly his brother Caleb and his wife and Ben’s other brothers.

The book has a lot of twists and turns including Ben’s death, the death of Caleb’s wife, and a loose cougar from a circus!

Even though I was able to figure out the plot, I did enjoy reading this book.
Suzanne Woods Fisher is thrilled to announce the release of The Waiting, book two in The Lancaster Secrets Collection. In The Waiting Jorie finds herself caught be two loves and two lives in this compelling page turner about complex people living the simple life.

About The Waiting: Book 2 in the Lancaster Secrets Collection


Book 2 in The Lancaster Secrets collection and hot on the heals of the best-selling The Choice, The Waiting, a stand alone story, is a compelling page turner. Jorie King has been waiting for Benjamin Zook to return home to Lancaster County so they can marry. When news arrives that Ben has been killed, Jorie finds comfort in the friendship of his brother Caleb. That friendship ripens into love, and it seems that they are meant to be together. But when the unexpected happens, their worlds are turned upside down once more. Will Jorie trust God to lead her into the arms of a new man?


A multifaceted story about complex people living the simple life. Readers will find themselves transported into the world of the Amish and deeply invested in these wonderful characters.


About Suzanne Woods Fisher : Suzanne Woods Fisher is the CBA bestselling author of The Choice, The Waiting, Amish Peace, and Amish Proverbs. Her interest in the Anabaptist cultures can be directly traced to her grandfather, W. D. Benedict, who was raised in the Old Order German Baptist Brethren Church in Franklin County, Pennsylvania. Benedict eventually became publisher of Christianity Today magazine. Suzanne is the host of a radio show called Amish Wisdom and her work has appeared in many magazines. She lives in California . Find out more about Suzanne at www.suzannewoodsfisher.comSWF_headshot3


5 Thoughts Shared to The Waiting~Book Review

  1. Pam

    I have not read any of her books….I’ll have to try one.
    I reallyenjoy Beverly Lewis….. I come from Amish heritage… dad was raised Old Order……Beverly is very respectful and accurate to the Amish culture.

    Pam, South Bend

  2. Barbara H.

    I have not read any of hers, either. Sounds interesting!

  3. Jenn

    I love this genre and, like Pam, Beverly Lewis is a favorite. I love my Family Christian Bookstore coupons! I’m sure I’ll pick this one up soon!

  4. Suzanne Woods Fisher

    I’m a little late to the party…out of town helping my daughter last week with her new baby, and am at my publisher’s right now. But I had a few minutes to spare and wanted to thank you for your review of “The Waiting.” Hope you’ll want to read more! “The Search” is coming in about 6-7 weeks!
    Thanks for being a part of the tour, too.
    Suzanne Woods Fisher

  5. The Search~Suzanne Woods Fisher | A Dusty Frame

    […] received a free copy of this book The Search by Suzanne Woods Fisher to review. I enjoyed   Suzanne’s other book so I looked forward to reading this […]

Thank You for Sharing Your Thoughts